CAF Awards: Event to be hosted in Morocco on 11 December.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has disclosed the venue and date for its prestigious annual award. According to CAF, the 2023 award will be hosted on the 11th December in Morocco where the previous was held.

According to CAF, the host City will be revealed in due time.

Sadio Mané of Liverpool in the Men’s category won the African player of the tear award, beating former Liverpool teammate Mohammed Salah, Edouard Mendy of Chelsea. Just after 12 months, Sadio and Edouard have been relegated from the spotlight – leaving Liverpool’s forward as the only favourite candidate to reappear for this year’s award.

Barcelona and Nigeria forward Asisat Oshoala, from the Women’s category, claimed her 5th award last year after beating arch rivals to 5th and the most by a player since inception. Oshoala, who is set to retain the award for the sixth time , faces stiff competition for the most prestigious award in Africa.

The awards will recognize the standout performers from club and country over the past year, with the highlight being the crowning of the CAF African Player of the Year in both the men’s and women’s categories.

CAF further disclose that multiple awards will be at stake:

“Several more honours will also be at stake, including the Interclub Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, National Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Club of the Year, and Goal of the Year.”

“The Interclub Women’s Player of the Year award, which was introduced last year after the successful launch of the CAF Women’s Champions League, will continue this year.”

Kanu Nwankwo remains the previous Nigerian player to scope the award in 1999, 2013 Mikel Obi finished as a runner-up to Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure, while in 2014 Vincent Enyeama became the last Nigerian player to reach the top three. 

Nigerian football enthusiasts are optimistic that Napoli striker Victor Osimhen, who is one of the favorites for this year’s award, can end the long awarded years of Nigerians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please reload

Please Wait